top of page
Search

Top Gun: Maverick Movie Review


It feels like basically sacrilegious whenever I say to people in public that I'm not a huge Top Gun guy (despite basically being a Tom Cruise movie star fanboy). Don't get me wrong, the original is a perfectly fun film with a lovable cast, but as undeniably iconic as that cast & characters are I've never felt much of an emotional pull towards that original story whenever watching it. Maybe it's just a bit dated or has to do with the fact that I finally saw it later in life compared to many other people. Having said that, I'm always excited for a new Tom Cruise summer blockbuster (especially any that has him teaming up with Christopher McQuarrie) and even for me these extensive release delays for this film have made this wait excruciating to say the least.


For my money though, Top Gun: Maverick is an immensely superior film to the original in just about every single department. It's not only a heartfelt love letter to its original counterpart that the late great Tony Scott I think would be very proud of, but also one of the most exhilarating and wonderfully old-fashioned summer blockbusters to have come out in many many years. Despite not having much nostalgia for the 1986 film, even I was getting goosebumps and feeling so much excitement as soon as the film opened with that iconic music playing in the background. But thankfully this film smartly avoids also being just purely a nostalgic film trip down memory lane. All the expected callbacks and nods to the original are certainly present, but director Joseph Kosinski and co have crafted a surprisingly emotional and heartfelt narrative that manages to soar even higher. It's apparent everyone involved has a passion for that first film, but are just as committed to making a new adventure that can still very much stand on its own merits too and it absolutely does.


As a pure technical achievement, this film is nothing short of a marvel. The filmmaking on display from Joseph Kosinski makes for one of the most well-crafted blockbusters in recent memory. It's a pure adrenaline rush from start to finish and one that rarely ever lets up even in its quieter moments. Every single aerial combat sequence is oozing with so much nail biting suspense and feel so unbelievably immersive. I really can't stress enough about how much seeing this IMAX is so worth the price of admission not only because of the incredible sound, but also these sequences are so intense that I really did start to feel like I was practically there. The last 30 minutes in particular are near cinematic perfection, and it might even be the best finale I've seen from any film so far this year which is honestly saying something. Relentlessly thrilling, unpredictable, so immersive, and even emotional. The cinematography from Claudio Miranda is also stunning and immersive. And both the score from Lorne Balfe and the musical score are absolutely fantastic, there's no doubt I'll be playing both on non-stop replay.


Much of the praise also needs to be directed to this incredible cast. Tom Cruise slips back into the iconic role of Maverick so seamlessly and I think is even way better in this film. This is one of his more well-rounded and overall best performances he's given in many years. Jennifer Connelly is also in typically wonderful form and the romantic chemistry she shares with Cruise also really works. I just bought into this relationship much more than I did between Cruise & Kelly McGillis in the first. And as for the new group of trainee pilots? They are absolutely delightful and all cast so well. Miles Teller has always been a highly underrated actor whom I feel just hasn't quite been given his due yet despite some outstanding work in the past and here he shines as Rooster with one of his best performances yet. He's charming, fierce, and certainly completely sells himself as the spawn of Anthony Edwards's legendary Goose. The dynamic between Cruise & Teller is easily one of the best parts of the entire movie. Glen Powell on the other hand is a complete scene stealer as Hangman. Both Teller & Powell have so much immense movie star charm that it's rather mind boggling how they're not bigger movie stars already, but hopefully that is going to change with this film's success. Monica Barbaro is also a delightful standout as Phoenix and it's always great to see Lewis Pullman in anything. Jon Hamm also has a bigger role than I was anticipating. While some of these new characters are definitely way better fleshed out than others, it was still easy to get immediately attach to this new core of pilots from the moment they're introduced and really care for them. Also, Val Kilmer does appear here and without giving any specific details away I had some real trouble holding back the waterworks during that moment.


I'm really having issues pinpointing too many nitpicks with Top Gun: Maverick. The main central story may not be anything too special and it does borrow its share of familiar beats we already saw in the original. However, these flaws are so minor and insignificant compared to everything else that works to amazing impact in this sequel. With what is a much more emotionally involving story, non-stop thrilling action, a charming group of characters, and some of the most pulse pounding blockbuster filmmaking on display in years, I'm kind of stunned with just how much I walked out loving this film so much, This is a worthy and faithful legacy sequel that has everything fans of the original will eat up and fall in love with all over again, but also stands on its own two feet and is such a gripping adventure in its own right that I think so many non fanatics (such as myself) will still walk away really appreciating this film so much more. I don't want to risk overhyping this for anyone, but it really is worth every bit of the buzz. It's one of the best blockbusters in recent memory and also sets the bar incredibly high for the rest of the summer movie season. I was holding onto the edge of my seat at many points, laughing at many points and I couldn't believe how many times I was just about tearing up as well. Easily one of the very best films of the year thus far and this will have to be one very special year of cinema for this not to somehow crack my Top 10 list when it's all over. You'll be doing yourself such a massive disservice by not catching this one on the biggest screen possible. When this film finished, I immediately wanted to walk back in and see it again. I rarely ever feel that way truthfully.


Final Grade: A

5 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page